SECTION 9 – REGULATORY AND OTHER COMMITTEES

9.1 The Council will appoint the Committees to discharge the functions set out in Section 13 of this Constitution.

The Democratic Services Committee

- 9.2.1 The Council will appoint a Democratic Services Committee to discharge the functions described in Section 13 of this Constitution.¹
- 9.2.2 The Committee shall consist of 14 Members to achieve so far as reasonably practicable a political balance.
- 9.2.3 No more than one Member of the Cabinet may be a member of the Committee and that Cabinet Member cannot be the Leader.
- 9.2.4 The Chair of the Democratic Services Committee is appointed by Full Council at its Annual Meeting and the Chair may be removed from office by a motion to remove to Council which is put on the agenda pursuant to Rule 4.38.1. The Chair must not be a member of an Executive Group (meaning a political group some or all of whose members comprise, or are included in, the Cabinet of the Authority, unless there are no oposition groups [meaning a political group none of whose members are included in the Cabinet of the Authority] in which case the Chair may be a member of an Executive Group but must not be a member of the Cabinet).
- 9.2.5 The Committee may appoint one or more sub-committees and may arrange for the discharge of any of its functions by such a sub-committee.
- 9.2.6 The Committee is to appoint the Chair of any Sub-Committee.
- 9.2.7 The Vice-Chair of the Committee is appointed by the Committee and the Vice-Chair of any Sub-Committee is appointed by the Sub-Committee
- 9.2.8 The Vice-Chair of the Democratic Services Committee and the Chair and Vice-Chair of a Sub-Committee may be removed from office by a motion to remove which is put on the agenda of the Democratic Services Committee pursuant to Rule 4.38.1

Regulatory Committees and Sub-Committees

- 9.3.1 The Council will appoint such Regulatory Committees as it considers appropriate to the exercise of its functions. These will include a Planning, Taxi Licensing and Rights of Way Committee of 21 Members, the a Licensing Act 2003 Committee of 14 Members, the an Employment and Appeals Committee of 14 Members, and the a Pensions and Investments Committee of 5 Members plus the Portfolio Holder for Finance together with a Staff and Employers Representative.
- 9.3.2 Any Regulatory Committee appointed by the Council may at any time appoint additional Sub-Committees and panels throughout the year. The terms of reference and delegation of powers to them shall be explicit and within the Regulatory Committee's terms of reference.
- 9.3.3 Subject to Rule 9.3.4 below, Cabinet Members cannot be members of Regulatory Committees and / or their Sub-Committees.
- 9.3.4 Cabinet Members may be members of the following Regulatory Committees and / or their Sub-Committees in the manner described below:
 - 9.3.4.1 Pensions and Investment Committee;
 - 9.3.4.2 Employment and Appeals Committee where dealing with

¹ See Rule 11, of the Local Government (Wales) Measure 2011.

SECTION 9 – REGULATORY AND OTHER COMMITTEES

shortlisting and appointments in accordance with Rules 11.45, 11.52, and 11.56.

- 9.3.5 The quorum of any Sub-Committee of a Regulatory Committee will be 25% of the membership save that the quorum of the Taxi Licensing Sub-Committee shall be at least 3 Members and the quorum of the Licensing Sub-Committee of the Licensing Act 2003 Committee shall be at least 3 Members.
- 9.3.6 A Regulatory Committee and / or Sub-Committee will appoint a Chair and Vice-Chair at the first meeting of the Committee / Sub-Committee following the Council's Annual Meeting.
- 9.3.7 A Chair and Vice-Chair of a Regulatory Committee may be removed from office by a motion to remove which is put on the agenda pursuant to Rule 4.38.1

Rules of Procedure and Debate

9.4 The Council Procedure Rules in Section 4 will apply.

ⁱ To comply with The Size and Composition of Local Planning Authority Committees (Wales) Regulations 2017 a Planning Committee must have between 11 and 21 Members.